Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

X

Strange Chemistry 2013 Releases

Now that we are rapidly approaching the end of 2012 – and we know that you book lovers like to start anticipating the releases from 2013 as soon as possible – we thought that we would present to you a handy guide to what is coming from Strange Chemistry in 2013.

January 2013

With wonderful endorsements from Amy Plum (“A true Gothic romance, deliciously written in a modern setting. Death, kissing, and a smoking hot mystery boy: what more could you ask for?”) and Michelle Zink (“Broken is a devastatingly haunting love story where nothing is as it seems – and your heart is not your own.”) BROKEN by A E Rought is a tragic love story, and is coming to you in January.

February 2013

In February we bring you Pantomime by Laura Lam, a circus-set fantasy. This novel is themed around secrets and the idea of belonging, discovering who you are and who you are meant to be. It has been garnering five star reviews on Goodreads like nobody’s business!

March 2013

Our March title is a wonderful story about a pair of siblings called Becca and Ryland. Becca is determined to protect her brother Ryland from those who believes that he is not right, thanks to the voices he hears in his head. When two strangers arrive and explain that they know how to help Ryland, Becca goes on a journey to Ireland to discover her family’s heritage.

April 2013

Martha Wells brings us Emilie and the Hollow World in April 2013, which has just been endorsed thusly by the fabulous Ann Aguirre: “A rollicking adventure yarn with plenty of heart – Emilie & the Hollow World shouldn’t be missed.” With elements of steampunk and gaslamp fantasy, this tale of adventure and mysterious lands has echoes of Jules Verne at his best.

May 2013

With a cover due any day now – and one we can’t wait to show off – our May title is Zenn Scarlett, a wonderful science fiction adventure by Christian Schoon. It features the titular Zenn, a seventeen year old training to be an exovet – one of those who look after the weird and wonderful alien life forms that roam the known universe. When her whole world is threatened by those who wish to remove the aliens from their land, Zenn has to fight for what she believes in.

June 2013

The highly-anticipated sequel to The Assassin’s Curse lands in June. Before that we’ll be putting out short stories in the same world, featuring Naji and certain other special characters, to really whet your appetite for what is to come!

July 2013

From July we move to two books a month – double the goodness you’ve come to expect from Strange Chemistry!

First of the releases is The Woken Gods by Gwenda Bond, another standalone novel. Here is the blurb:

The more things change…

Ten years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same…

This morning, seventeen-year-old Kyra Locke was late for school.

But that’s not out of the ordinary in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. What is unusual is Kyra’s encounter with two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat, and the other a warning.

Kyra escapes with the aid of young operatives from the Society, who inform her that her scholarly father has disappeared from its headquarters at the Library of Congress and taken a dangerous Egyptian relic with him. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in Kyra’s protests that she knows nothing about it.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the help of everyone from a paranoid ex-boyfriend to scary Sumerian gods to operatives whose allegiance is first and always to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to clear her father’s name and recover the missing relic before the impending summer solstice.

What’s at stake? Just the end of the world as Kyra knows it.

From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan…

Our other release that month is Playing Tyler by T L Costa. This exceptional science fiction novel presents a world not dissimilar to our own where video games are taken to a whole new level.

August 2013

In August we’ll be seeing the sequel to Shift by Kim Curran. Control is a novel that raises the stakes massively, leaving Scott Tyler to wonder whether his world will ever be the same again.

The second release is The Weight of Souls by Bryony Pearce. Here is the blurb:

Sixteen year old Taylor Oh is cursed: if she is touched by the ghost of a murder victim then they pass a mark beneath her skin. She has three weeks to find their murderer and pass the mark to them – letting justice take place and sending them into the Darkness. And if she doesn’t make it in time? The Darkness will come for her…

She spends her life trying to avoid ghosts, make it through school where she’s bullied by popular Justin and his cronies, keep her one remaining friend, and persuade her father that this is real and that she’s not going crazy.

But then Justin is murdered and everything gets a whole lot worse. Justin doesn’t know who killed him, so there’s no obvious person for Taylor to go after. The clues she has lead her to the V Club, a vicious secret society at her school where no one is allowed to leave… and where Justin was dared to do the stunt which led to his death.
Can she find out who was responsible for his murder before the Darkness comes for her? Can she put aside her hatred for her former bully to truly help him?

And what happens if she starts to fall for him?

September 2013

The brilliant Sean Cummings brings us the second novel in the Poltergeeks series: Student Bodies. This book turns up the heat on Julie Richardson, being darker and snarkier than the first in spades!

Student Bodies is joined in the line-up by the simply beautiful When the World was Flat (And we Were in Love) by Ingrid Jonach. This love story crosses literal dimensions as Lillie and Tom fight to stay together.

October 2013

Our two October releases are rather secret, we’re afraid! One author is yet to be announced, while the other author has already written one book for us and is writing a very special sequel to come in this month… Dun dun DUUUUUURRRR!

November 2013

Our last releases for the year (we never release anything in December – ’tis too hard to compete with celebrity autobiographies, doncha know!) are in November. The first of these is the next in the Russalka Chronicles: Katya’s War by Jonathan L Howard. Things all get a bit dangerous for our girl Katya!

Our other release is the incredibly dark Cracked by Eliza Crewe:

Meet Meda. She eats people.

Well, technically, she eats their soul. But she totally promises to only go for people who deserve it. She’s special. It’s not her fault she enjoys it. She can’t help being a bad guy. Besides, what else can she do? Her mother was killed and it’s not like there are any other “soul-eaters” around to show her how to be different. That is, until the three men in suits show up.

They can do what she can do. They’re like her. Meda might finally have a chance to figure out what she is. The problem? They kind of want to kill her. Before they get the chance Meda is rescued by crusaders, members of an elite group dedicated to wiping out Meda’s kind. This is her chance! Play along with the “good guys” and she’ll finally figure out what, exactly, her ‘kind’ is.

Be careful what you wish for. Playing capture the flag with her mortal enemies, babysitting a teenage boy with a hero complex, and avoiding a bad-ass cripple that doesn’t trust her are bad enough. But the Hunger is gaining on her.

The more she learns, the worse it gets. And when Meda uncovers a shocking secret about her mother, her past, and her destiny… she may finally give into it.

There you have it! We’d love to know which would go on YOUR hotly-anticipated list!

Amanda

Comments

Becca

I need to get me all of these books now! I’ve read Pantomime and loved it, definitely my favourite book of the year. I also have The Holders on my shelf waiting to be read! All of these books sound amazing and I need them in my life!

Maria @ Fantasy's Ink

So excited for Emilie and the Hollow World, When the World was Flat, Katya’s War, The Woken Gods and of course The Pirate’s Wish!!!

Candace @ Lovey Dovey Books

Ooh, you guys are going to be rocking 2013! I’m equally anticipating the covers for these books too.

I’m excited for Katya’s War, Cracked, When the World was Flat, Zenn Scarlett, The Woken Gods, and The Pirate’s Wish! I’m already working my way through Broken, Pantomime, and The Holders so I can say Strange Chemistry is already off to a great year :P

[...] to date published some of the best YA Speculative Fiction I have had the pleasure of reading. They recently blogged about their upcoming 2013 releases, and it’s so exciting to see them all in the same place! [...]

Leave a comment