Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

X

The Woken Gods Cover Art

Oh, it was an exciting day yesterday! We had the Cover Reveal for Gwenda Bond‘s forthcoming The Woken Gods (I got it right this time, Gwenda, although I still think The Woken Bonds could be the sequel – just sayin’) and enthusiasm and excitement was in abundance from the wonderful bloggers who helped us spread the beautiful artwork.

And here it is, by Amazing15:

 

Thanks, in no particular order!, goes to said bloggers:

Birth of  a New Witch
Civilian Reader
Daisy Chain Book Reviews
Totally Bookalicious
The Pewter Wolf
A Fantastical Librarian
Fantasy’s Ink

Comments on the blogs show the tremendous reaction to the cover and here’s just a flavour:

  • Via Birth of a New Witch: “Sounds amazing, and the cover is awesome” from Books for a Delicate Eternity
  • Via Civilian Reader: Responding to Stefan’s reaction to the Egyptian symbolism and his looking forward to reading The Woken Gods, Paul Weimer had this to say “I am, too. I did a recent SF Signal Mind meld on Mythology and genre fiction, and invited Gwenda because of this forthcoming book. :)”
  • Via Daisy Chain Book Reviews: The Woken Gods was getting a lot of love here, being swiftly added to many TBR piles! Hollie at Music, Books and Tea had this to say: “I am in love with this cover! It’s so eye-catching and interesting. And it sounds amazing, I love Egyptian mythology so I’m definitely adding it to my TBR pile!”
  • The excitement for the mythology aspect continued over on Totally Bookalicious, while on A Fantastical Librarian, Bibliotropic said thusly “I’m really looking forward to this one. The cover art alone would have grabbed my attention, but the synopsis just sealed the deal!” and Craig got excited for Capitol Hill to be on the cover: “Great cover! That’s ma hometown! I’m glad you found the magic in it!”

Speaking of the synopsis, here you go:

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke around the world.

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., home to the embassies of divine pantheons and the mysterious Society of the Sun. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way back from school, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn’t what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne “Oz” Spencer, an intriguing Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous relic. The Society needs it, and they don’t care that she knows nothing about her father’s secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz–whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn’t? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it.

From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.

Check out Gwenda’s site for her cheery announcement of the cover – as well as a chance to win not only a signed copy of The Woken Gods but also Blackwood!

If you’re a blogger who also posted the cover, do let me know and I’ll be sure to add you to our list! Email me at caroline[dot]lambe[at]angryrobotbooks[dot]com.

Thanks everyone!
Caroline

Caroline Lambe

Comments

christian schoon
Reply

well, this is amazingly amazing cover art. well done to the plasma-slinging art mavens at SC, once again.

Gwenda
Reply

I will call my zombie army The Woken Bonds. Mwhaha.

Thanks for the round-up and again to all the bloggers that participated and spread the word!

T.L.Costa
Reply

It really is beautiful!! And it sounds fantastic!!!!

Caroline Lambe
Reply

Look at the fellow SC support, warming the cockles of my heart, you lot are. Team Strange Chemistry, woooo! :)

Gwenda
Reply

Indeed — yay Team SC!

Leave a comment

name

email (not published)

website